International Certification Authority

Halal is often used in reference to foods and drinks, i.e. foods that are permissible for Muslims to eat or drink under Islamic Shariah (law). The criteria specifies both what foods are allowed, and how the food must be prepared. The foods addressed are mostly types of meat and animal tissue. The most common example of non-Halal (or Haraam) food is pork. Pork meat and its products cannot be eaten or used by Muslims at all due to historical, cultural, and hygienic concerns. Foods other than pork can also be Haraam. The criteria for non-pork items include their source, the cause of the animal’s death, and how it was processed. The food must come from a supplier that uses Halal practices. Muslims must also ensure that all foods (particularly processed foods), as well as non-food items like cosmetics and pharmaceuticals, are Halal. Frequently, these products contain animal by-products or other ingredients that are not permissible for Muslims to eat or use on their bodies.

Key Benefits

  • Pig derivatives are used in 185 daily use products
  • 44% of global gelatin is made from pig skin. Gelatin is used in food, cosmetics, pharmaceuticals.
  • Pig traces found in protein powders used in poultry industry.
  • Pig enzymes have been confirmed in several cigarette filters in Europe.
  • Additives (preservatives, emulsifiers, stabilizers, colures, flavors, sweeteners etc) are used in all type of foods and can be derived from Haram sources.
  • Natural Red Colour (E120) extracted from an insect blood.
  • Carbon filters used for mineral water processing can be derived from animal bones.
  • Machinery parts (e.g. leather) may be derived from Haram animal body parts.